Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Price, Dickey: Cy Young Winners

David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays and Robert Allen Dickey of the New York Mets have just claimed the most prestigious award handed out among Major League pitchers. Both men were my picks to win in their respective leagues and I could not be happier. This is the happiest I've been with the results of the Cy Young vote in a few years.

I have to begin with RA Dickey. He was the on the scrap heap in 2009 and when he finally got the call in 2010 by the New York Mets, he was transformed into a brilliant knuckle-ball pitcher. Dickey is the first ever knuckle-ball pitcher to win a Cy Young and the third pitcher in Mets history to win after Tom Seaver and Doc Gooden. Clayton Kershaw came in at a distant second place. Nothing would have compared with the year and story of RA Dickey. Something about the man's grace, humbleness and quiet confidence makes me elated over his victory in the Cy Young voting. Congratulations RA Dickey, soak it in. You have climbed the tallest mountain.

David Price was also my pick to win the Cy Young award in the American League. Although his Rays just barely missed the postseason, Price had an outstanding year by posting twenty victories on a team with no offense. He has improved his game on all facets and put it together this season to come out on top in the American League. Congratulations on your award, David Price.

No comments:

Post a Comment